You are awesome AKA words often unspoken

On opening my blog today I was surprised to be met with some ‘likes’ and a lovely comment on my previous post.  What surprised me even more was the way it made me feel – there is a kind of buoyancy that comes with positive comments from others (be they your nearest and dearest or friends you haven’t met yet).  This got me thinking about the impact of words – how they can affect the way our day goes, how we feel about ourselves and how we interact with others.

“The pen is mightier than the sword” – Edward Bulwer-Lytton

No truer words seem to have been spoken.  Cruel words, schoolyard jibes and nasty gossip can cut us to the quick, leaving behind a tidal wave of self-doubt and negativity.  I don’t want to dwell on the way words can be used to incite fear and hatred – I doubt that there is a person in the world who hasn’t experienced the cut of a viciously chosen word, and I like many others bare a few scars.  Instead I want to “spread the love” (sorry – that came out sounding a little too much like a Durex advert!).  A little bit of positivity from people I have never met in a far away climes made my day so much better and it has made me want to say the words that often go unspoken; be it out of embarrassment, lack of time or because I think the recipient should already know.

I realised that I hardly ever say ‘I love you’ – so I called, text and emailed the people that I love to let them know.  A few of my friends now think I bunked off work and spent the day at the pub, but the majority got it.  They understood the need to connect with others, the need to reinforce that connection and the happy ‘tipsy’ feeling you get when you hear those words, and in turn these three little words brightened their days too.  It’s not just about the person saying the words – it’s about the message too.

So to all who stumble across this little post there are six words that sum you up … you are awesome, you are loved! Ok, so there are technically only 4 (non-duplicated) words but you catch my drift.

Keep being awesome!

“Cause the players gonna play, play, play, play, play
And the haters gonna hate, hate, hate, hate, hate
Baby, I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake, shake, shake
I shake it off, I shake it off” Taylor Swift – Shake it Off

Leave a Reply

