It’s a puzzle to me

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “All About Me.”

Three peas in a pod

Three peas in a pod – a purrfect fit

So what’s the reasoning behind jigsaw1983?

I’ll start with the easy bit – 1983 is the year I was born.  Okay so I am somewhat lacking in originality but it’s when this particular (blogging) puzzle was made.  It was the year of The Smiths first single, the first American woman in space, Ewoks, Michael Jackson’s ‘Beat it’ and the introduction of the world to both the A Team and Fraggle Rock.  All in all a pretty good year!

Why jigsaw?  Because I think that all of us are jigsaws (not literally obvs.).  We are all made up of innumerable pieces that when connected make us ‘us’.  Traits, memories, ideals, skills, family, genetics and so on combine to form who we are.  Whilst a lot of us share similar ‘pieces’ they all slot together to form a different picture – we are all unique.

In turn I think each of us is part of a bigger picture.  We all combine to make the world what it is today – not all pieces fit together, like not all people get along, but in the end we all slot in somewhere.  We all have a place, be it small or large, and we all have a part to play.  We don’t always know what that part is, what our role is in life (I for one am still trying to figure that out) but perhaps that’s the point; maybe we aren’t supposed to know what the bigger picture is, maybe it’s just about finding where we belong.

As for what the bigger picture is supposed to look like I have no idea – maybe it’s like one of those magic eye pictures that you have to squint at to see the hidden meaning?

“The world’s a puzzle; no need to make sense out of it.” – Socrates

3 thoughts on “It’s a puzzle to me

  1. bkpyett says:

    I love your explanation of naming your site. I also appreciate what you say about jigsaws and how we all fit and work towards a better future. Excellent! My youngest child was born in 1980, so can picture you a little younger. Love the cats!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. philshanklin says:

    I liked this. A blog itself is like a jigsaw made up of all little bits which tell us something about the person writing it and this explanation you have written is a very important bit about you (if its a jigsaw then perhaps its one of the corner pieces – it’s certainly not just a piece of sky). I think this is a good response to the daily post and apart from the fact you have made me feel old (born in the same year as “Beat It”) I’ve really enjoyed reading it. The cat pictures are gorgeous too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

