My best friend George.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Toy Story.”

George went everywhere with me

George went everywhere with me

George was my best friend as a child.  He was loyal and reliable and was always by my side – climbing trees, ballet classes, tea parties – you name it he was there.  He had big brown eyes and a warm smile.  Oh, and did I mention that George is a bear?  Now before you get all concerned that my parents let me hang out with wild animals, please let me reassure you that George was a very friendly bear and he only ever ate people who were mean to me.

Now even though George was a huge part of my childhood, his connection with my life now is less obvious, although equally as important.  I am not overly sentimental so I don’t need him around as a security blanket.  My job is in no way bear related – it doesn’t involve honey, picnic baskets or marmalade sandwiches so he hasn’t had an impact there.  However George taught me one of the most important lessons of all (my parents may have had a hand in it also) – that lesson was about friendship and what makes a great friend.  A friend is someone to rely on, who is always there come rain or shine.  Someone to share a laugh or go on an epic adventure with.  George is sub-consciously what I look for in friendships, and the kind of friend I aim to be (although a chattier version – George was more the strong silent type).

And what of George?  He has taken up residence at my parent’s house.  He is a little worn around the edges but is always up for an adventure when I visit.

P.S.  Apologies for the poor quality photo – these were the days before digital!

5 thoughts on “My best friend George.

Leave a Reply

