Mixtape struggles

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Mix Tape Masterpiece.”

You make a new friend. Make them a mix tape (or playlist, for the younger folks) that tells them who you are through song.

I’ve got to admit I’m a bit concerned about this one.  A mix tape designed to tell someone who I’ve effectively just met, about the kind of person I am doesn’t seem like a great idea to me.  My musical tastes are a little eclectic (read ‘random’) and I’ve always been of the opinion that mix tapes should have some sort of cohesion. Contradictory would be a good word to describe my personality – I come across as confident but I am actually incredibly shy.  I’m laid-back, except when I’m not – I think you get the picture.  So all in all I think this mix tape is going to be a bit messy.Oh well, here goes…

  1. Jar of Hearts – Christina Perri: I love this song.  What really resonates with me is the conflict between head and heart.  Mine are always disagreeing.  I wish I could be the kind of person who can follow their heart, and make [sometimes reckless] decisions based not on common sense but love.  Instead I was raised to be practical, sensible – don’t get me wrong this is probably a good thing in the long run, but every once in a while it would be great to do something crazy without worrying about the consequences.
  2. I don’t want to be – Gavin DeGraw:  Whilst this song probably says more about the artist than about me, the idea of a song about identity really appeals to me (and fits with the daily prompt).  The message of being happy with the person you are is one I struggled with when I was younger – probably a lot of kids did.  As I get older I grow more comfortable in my own skin.
  3. Superstition – Stevie Wonder:  Despite being a truly awful dancer (two left feet) I love music that I can dance to, and that I can sing (badly) to.  This is the song I love to play when I’m driving – just me on the open road singing at the top of my lungs.  As to whether I’m superstitious; I don’t walk under ladders (that just seems dumb), I do knock on wood (something I picked up from my mum) and I don’t think that black cats are any luckier than any other coloured felines.
  4. Shake it out – Florence and the Machine: Most people have regrets, things they wish they had done differently.  Rather than let them weigh me down I try (sometimes successfully, sometimes not) to own the decisions I’ve made and let go of what might have been.
  5. Feeling good – Muse: A real “two birds, one stone” kinda song.  I was raised on the Rat Pack, Nina Simone, Aretha et al so this is a song that I’ve been listening to for years.  I chose Muse’s version because whilst I adore the original, I think the mix of classic and modern sums me up pretty well.  It speaks to my childhood and the influence of my family on my taste in music, but it brings in a touch of the rock music that my brother was always playing (and has subsequently become a favourite).
  6. Love Shack – B52s:  This was a must – a real cheese-fest.  I loved this song as a teenager and I guess it perfectly reflects just how uncool I am.

I decided it should be a mini mix tape as after all I have just made this new friend and I don’t want to weird them out too early on in the friendship.

P.S. This post was a bit of a struggle.  Whilst I love music it isn’t something that I turn to for help through hard times.  I don’t have a soundtrack to my life -I don’t know if that is a bad thing or not.

One thought on “Mixtape struggles

Leave a Reply

