Morning glory

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Golden Hour.”

This is a nice easy one.  I am a total morning person.  That’s not to say that I particularly like getting up early, it’s just that I function better in the morning.  I have more energy, my thought processes seem clearer – all in all everything is just easier.

By evening time I’m less than useless – simple things seem difficult and I often struggle to string a sentence together.   I’m not a fan of clubbing so it’s rare these days that I’m coming home late (or should that be early?).

Now this might have something to do with the fact that I don’t really sleep much.  I get by quite happily on about 4 broken hours a night – any more than that and I generally feel awful the next day.  Weird I know but I have always been this way.  My brain is always ticking over so I find it difficult to ‘switch off’ at the end of the day.  Tsuki

If I mention my sleeping habits to anyone then they often morph in to a sleep expert telling me what I need to do to get a solid 8 hours (drink a glass of milk, don’t drink milk, don’t watch TV, count sheep, heat the room up, cool the room down…).  Over the years I’ve tried all kinds of things, none of which have worked.  But you know what, I don’t mind not sleeping much.  I have a rule that if I wake up in the middle of the night and I’m wide awake then I get up.  It turns out that whilst I’m useless in the evening, I am insanely productive in the middle of the night – I can do a mountain of housework, ironing etc. without the distractions that crop up during the day.  That in turn could be why I like mornings – I’ve done all the boring jobs already so I can enjoy the rest of my day.

3 thoughts on “Morning glory

  1. bkpyett says:

    Have you thought of writing in the night? It’s the best time, as the distractions are few.
    Love the thought of getting the chores out of the way though and waking to a clean house!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

