“We’d like to get a sample of your brain tissue.”

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Generation XYZ.”

Think about the generation immediately younger or older than you. What do you understand least about them — and what can you learn from them?

I’m an 80s child so I’m stuck between a couple of generations that seems to be polar opposites to mine.

So, about the generation above me – I don’t understand perms or double denim, both of which seem to have been pretty rife with this generation.  ‘Dallas’ just seems like an advert for shoulder pads and the dangers of too much hairspray (surely they are all highly flammable!), and no matter how hard I try I just don’t get how Burt Reynolds was a heartthrob (sorry Burt – the moustache has got to go).

The generations below me confuse me even more.  They talk in text speak (for the record it isn’t quicker than saying the actual words when you take in to account the time it takes to decipher what they are saying).  I don’t get how words like ‘twerking’ end up in the dictionary, or how ‘The Only Way is Essex’ (TOWIE) is considered good TV (if you don’t know what this is look up Chris Pratt talking about it – he sums it up perfectly).

Whilst I’m certainly not a luddite I think technology has, to a certain extent, lessened younger generations abilities to communicate.  Sure, they are more tech savvy but it is much harder to find a younger person who can get through a meal without checking their phone. (No offence is intended to younger people – this is based purely on the experiences of me and my friends).

And finally … my friends and I like to try and insert movie quotes in to regular conversations (partly because we’re weird, mostly because it’s funny) – try inserting “We came! We saw! We kicked its ass!” or “She’s not my girlfriend. I find her interesting because she’s a client — and because she sleeps above her covers. FOUR. FEET above her covers! She barks! She drools! She claws!” in to a conversation – it’s not easy but when it works it’s great.  My best friend and I were extolling the virtues of the legend that is Bill Murray when her teenage cousin (who was visiting) uttered words no person should ever hear – “Who is Bill Murray?”  I’m not sure I can handle a world where young people idolise Justin Bieber but don’t know who Bill Murray is – the horror!

I reckon each generation struggles to understand those around it – tastes change, as do pop culture references.  I’ve decided that I’ll embrace the bits I like from the generations immediately older (Godfather movies) and younger (Taylor Swift music), and keep hold of my Ghostbusters references.

The quotes are all from Ghostbusters – the two in the main body are Peter Venkman (Bill Murray) quotes.  The subject line quote is said by Egon Spengler (the late great Harold Ramis).

Leave a Reply

