It’s not all Flux capacitors and hoverboards!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Advantage of Foresight.”

You’ve been granted the power to predict the future! The catch — each time you use your power, it costs you one day (as in, you’ll live one day less). How would you use this power, it at all?

As a natural born worrier I’m not sure I would want to be able to predict the future.  Sure it might be fun on the odd occasion, but it also could be scary or depressing if the future is bleak.

Lets say you look in to the future and see something bad is going to happen.  Not only does seeing this knock a day off your lifetime, but it would be likely that you change your actions in order to avoid this bad thing.  The fact that you did something different could ultimately lead to the bad event, or could trigger something worse.  I am terrible at explaining this so I would recommend watching Stargate SG-1 episode ‘Prophecy’ (season 6 episode 21) which covers this much better than I can.  Glimpses of the future are open to interpretation – which is risky in itself.

A person often meets his destiny on the road he took to avoid it.” Jean de la Fontaine

Putting all that aside I have made a few decisions in my life which initially seemed to be bad ones.  As it turns out things had to get worse before they got better.  If I had glimpsed in to the future chances are I would have done the exact opposite and who knows how things would have panned out.

And because there is no way I can write a post about glimpsing the future without referencing one of the greatest films of all times…

George McFly: “Lorraine.  My density has brought me to you.”

Lorraine Baines: “What?”

George McFly: “Oh.  What I meant to say was…”

Lorraine Baines: “Wait a minute.  Don’t I know you from somewhere?”

George McFly: “Yes.  Yes.  I’m George.  George McFly.  I’m your density.  I mean, your destiny.”

Back to the Future (1985)

Leave a Reply

