She said

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “S/he Said.”

Pause whatever you’re doing, and ask the person nearest you what they’re thinking about (call someone if you have to). Write a post based on it.

“What am I going to do with my life?”  Nine simple little words in response to asking her what was on her mind.  On their own these words are harmless, however put together they make up a question that weighs heavy.  A questions that ebbs in to every part of life – work, love, friendship.

In a twist to the prompt I decided to write about a recent conversation I had with a friend who had noticed that I seemed a little out of sorts and asked what was on my mind.  Those simple nine words were my response, and it’s a question that I have been toying with for a while

I’m stuck in a rut – I have been for a while.  I feel as though my life is at a bit of a standstill and I am not sure how to go about getting things moving again.  In a bid to try and get some momentum back in to my life I have decided to try and get out of my comfort zone and make some changes in my life.

Now being a bit of a wuss I’m going to start small and work the nerve up to the bigger things.  Here are a few of the things on my list of things of changes to be made:

  1. Haircut – I detest going to the hairdressers with a passion, which is evident from my extremely long and messy barnet.  It’s a little thing but I’m going to cut it short (not too short – I’m not that brave) so I have a visible reminder of the changes I want to make to my life each time I look in the mirror.
  2. Get fit – Following a bad injury a few years ago my fitness has slipped.  So I am going to do something about it – starting with a Zumba class at my local gym (it should be interesting especially considering my two left feet!).
  3. Work/life balance – work has always won out between these two.  I have finally got to a point in my life where I earn a half-decent salary in a job that I am good at.  The problem is that my job is stressful and whilst I get some satisfaction from it I’m not sure if I really enjoy it.  I’m going to have to ponder this some more and decide whether a career re-think is in order.
“They always say time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself” Andy Warhol
Leave a Reply

