Basket case sounds about right

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Don’t You Forget About Me.”

Imagine yourself at the end of your life. What sort of legacy will you leave? Describe the lasting effect you want to have on the world, after you’re gone cheerful thought Daily Prompt!

Admittedly it would be pretty cool if my headstone included either of the following…

  • “She saved the world…a lot” (Buffy Summers, Buffy the Vampire Slayer)
  • “She did it the hard way” (Bette Davis)

To be honest though the first is unlikely – I am prone to laziness and I don’t possess any of the skills that might one day save the world (unless eating chocolate or having the ability to retain completely useless bits of information may one day save mankind from an asteroid or plague?).  The second epitaph is getting closer as I do seem to like to make things difficult for myself (not always intentionally).

That being said I don’t mind if my life doesn’t leave a lasting legacy on the world, but I would like it to have had a (positive) impact on those around me.  To make those around me happy and to hopefully enrich their lives in some small way is all that I really hope for.

Whilst my name may never go down in the history books (that is unless I die in some weird manner) I would hope that I would be remembered fondly amongst the people I love, because after all theirs are the opinions that mean the most to me.

“You see us as you want to see us—in the simplest terms, in the most convenient definitions. But what we found out is that each one of us is a brain…and an athlete…and a basket case…a princess…and a criminal. Does that answer your question?” (Breakfast Club)

Leave a Reply

