Colour and clutter

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Clean Slate.”

Explore the room you’re in as if you’re seeing it for the first time. Pretend you know nothing. What do you see? Who is the person who lives there?

DSCF1010

The room I am in is small but functional.  It is attached to the living room and has a large window across from me that faces a row of trees that are full of their summer foliage.

There is an oven to my left, work space and a sink in front of me, and a fridge to my right.  The walls are an off white that is generally referred to as magnolia.  The walls are the plainest thing in this room.  Everything else is an explosion of colour; reds, pinks, blues, greens and all the rainbow colours between.  Absolutely nothing matches – the crockery are all different shapes and sizes, but weirdly it all looks like it belongs together.  A stack of geese measuring cups sit facing storage jars covered in matryoshka nesting dolls – they look like they could be having a conversation.

So this is my kitchen – its tiny and cluttered and I absolutely love it.  I am renting so I have absolutely no say in the wall colour (magnolia is so blah!) so to make up for this I have adopted a mantra of ‘anything goes’,  It doesn’t matter what colour or style something is, if I like it I’ll get it.  In not caring whether or not anything matches I have gathered a variety of kitchen gadgets, plates, storage jars etc. that really shouldn’t work together but do (or in my mind they do anyway).

Mine is not a minimalist home – I would struggle with white walls and clean lines.  I like colour and clutter and that homely feel, which for me it is impossible to have without a myriad of ‘bits and bobs’.

4 thoughts on “Colour and clutter

Leave a Reply

